Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 20th, 2008

Note: I have cut-and-pasted the following text from my earlier version of “Suspension (part 1)” post, so that each of my postings will not appear under more than 1 category (Now, “Suspension (part 1)” is under the “Cheat Theories” category, and “Improvising Sus4” is under the “Cheat Tricks” category). At the same time, I have added illustration photos on the “Suspension (part 1)” post (if you haven’t seen them), and do likewise on this post.

If you find learning a Sus4 chord a challenge, don’t worry. This is where another Cheat Trick comes in. 🙂

To improvise Chord I4, try this: Play the “doe” note with your left hand. And with your right hand, instead of playing Chord I, play Chord IV. That sounds pretty much like Chord I4 to me. (In the C key, that means playing the C note with your left hand, and the F chord with your right hand. The resulting sound is very much like C4)

Figure 1: C4 (by combining F chord with C bass)

As for Chord V4, try this: Play the “so” note with your left hand. And with your right hand, instead of playing Chord V, play Chord I. Again that sounds pretty close to Chord V4 to me. (In the C key, that means playing the G note with your left hand, and the C chord with your right hand. The combination sounds very close to G4).

Figure 2: G4 (by combining C chord with G bass)

Read Full Post »